Jaqueline by Amber Koneval


your eyes are the clearest I’ve ever seen

piercing and safi

I wish you would look up more instead of

hiding those eyes with those long lashes

biting your fleece to hide your giggles

Why hide it?

little orphan child with the soft, soft voice

speaking broken, confused English

I want you to know how much

mimi nakupenda

and how much I wish I could give you

a mother

to replace the one you lost

take my hand and guide me, bebe

I wish I didn’t have to let go

Published in the More Informed (October 2010)

Leave a Reply

