Oh By The Way…


I got a tattoo. This is my first one, which was designed by myself and literally stenciled onto my body. It is a blue rosary with lily-designs in the arms of the cross, a Chi Ro in the medallion and all fifty-beads (so I could technically use it to pray a rosary, in the event that I am in a situation where I do not have my others with me).

I have a very strong relationship with the rosary- I have three on me at all times (my wrist decade bracelet, my glow-in-the-dark rosary in my purse, and now the one permanently on my body). I pray three rosaries a week, and have been praying the rosary devoutly since sixth grade.

I like to think of it as being marked for God. Wherever I go now, people will first see me as a Catholic, rather than some random girl with no specific tie. I am first and foremost a member of the Holy Mother Church, and the fact that I cannot take off this rosary to hide that identity is a reminder that I should ALWAYS strive to be a model ambassador of the Church to the world- in loving, in understanding, in living up to the high standards set for us by Christ and his institutional community. I am proud of being a Catholic, I am proud of my Church, and my pride resides in my God. I know that many of my faith community have a negative view of tattoos, but it is my hope that they would understand the pure intention behind it. I’m willing to defend my choice to mark myself in the name of My Lord as long as it takes.

Plus, isn’t it beautiful?

Leave a Reply

