Exterminating Angel: Talking to Myself


My new essay on my own writing style, Talking to Myself, is up on the Exterminating Angel website. Go check it out, let me know what you think!

 

An excerpt:

 

The first question I always get when I tell people that I am a poet is “What is your poetry about?” For the most part it seems like they are waiting for me to give them some sort of genre, as if poets must be limited to only writing about love or social justice issues or nature. A lot of potential poets think this way too. I did, once upon a time. I felt like poems always had to be some kind of declamation of major importance, and that I needed to have some grand scheme in mind every single time that I wrote. You can imagine what kind of trite slop came out of that mentality. I’ve been published in poetry for four years now, and I can assure you that it is not because I’ve been solving the world’s problems via verse. In fact, most of the time I don’t even know what I am thinking when I start to write a poem

Leave a Reply

