Repairing Koko Tutu’s Hut


I haven’t posted my own poems in awhile, and I figured it might be nice to repost some of my older works so that you all can enjoy them. So following my most recent ‘Why Do I Write’ post, have a poem written during my summer mission trip to Kakamega, Kenya, originally published in the More Informed in October of 2010.

Repairing Koko Tutu’s Hut

soot shakes down on my face
like soft, dry rain
covering my sunburnt cheeks
until I am black as them
pulling down the ruined thatch
to replace her roof with fresh green
straw grass
as she replaces our meager work
with fresh, sweet bananas
from her own tree
and her neighbor’s as well
the children shout with cleverness and joy
kesho
you have made me long so achingly
for tomorrow

2 thoughts on “Repairing Koko Tutu’s Hut

Leave a Reply

