Getting Nervous


My reading at the Innisfree Poetry Bookstore in Boulder is coming up soon- this Thursday in fact. I’m super nervous for it- the last time I did an hour-long reading with just myself, I was in the safety of my university’s library. This will honestly be the first time that I’m doing a full reading in a completely public place, now that I think about it. Most of the time, I’m reading with other poets or participating in an open mic or reading poetry alongside a reflection (for those times that I’m at a youth group or FCA- the focus is on the reflection, and not necessarily the poems.)

It’s an awesome space, though, I went to the reading last week and was really impressed by their selection and their set-up. So I’m nervous, but I’m also wicked excited.

So tomorrow I’m going to be spending a lot of time picking out poems to read- I’m going to be reading mostly from my collection, but I also want to read from my journal publications and give an idea of where I want to go with future collections. After I pick out a couple, I’m going to spend a good portion of my day reading them out-loud to myself to get good pacing, practicing the in-between-poems banter a bit so I have something to fall back on, and whatnot. Oh, and I’m going to make sure my camera is charged so I can actually get pictures this time! I really want there to finally be pictures of myself reading with my red hair… I have zero professional-looking pictures with it, and it makes me a bit sad.

Also, I’m in the middle of finishing up the last of my interviews, and then starting on my guest posts. The reading is going to be kind of a nice kick-off for my book blog tour (which is going to include a giveaway!). I’m super excited about that, if you couldn’t tell (even if I have been majorly procrastinating on getting my guest posts done and sent back to the bloggers).

So look forward to that! And if you happen to be near Boulder this Thursday, I would really appreciate the support of having more people stop by and listen to me read!

3 thoughts on “Getting Nervous

  1. Hope you have a great time! Sounds awesome. Hope you get pictures too. I definitely know how irritating it is to have your camera, and not be able to take pictures because it’s either not working, or it’s not charged! Happened during my vacation. Got messed up before we went to Disneyland, so I wasn’t able to take pics of the lovely sights. Boo. Ah well, we had a lovely time anyway. ;D Can’t wait to hear how your event goes!

  2. Hola! I’ve been reading your website for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

Leave a Reply

