Things I Do to Stay Sane: Learn a New Language


Growing up, I always liked the process of learning new languages. I took French, Spanish, and minimal Swahili (before my missions trip to Kenya back in 2010) when I was in high-school, and in college I took a year-long course in beginners Latin (which is dominantly translation-based rather than speaking-oriented). The differences in words, how sentences are created, what sounds are associated with what, how entire cultures form around simple re-structuring of grammar and social associations through what ‘older’ words are combined to describe new experiences has always fascinated me.

I can by no means speak, or translate, fluently in any of these languages. I can speak haltingly in French and Spanish, and usually only remember the words when I’m not in need of it. Most of it would only be helpful in greeting people, introducing myself, and asking for the bathroom in any case.

Seeing as I am now out of school for the first time, however, I find that my brain is going to need me to give it more stimulation than I normally would on ‘break’. I’m writing, that’s true, and I’m working, which is a different kind of brain work- but if I’m not learning something new in a strong structure I have this fear that I’m going to lose more of my cognitive control, that I will stagnate in my creativity, and that I will come up against a road-block in my writing that I will not be able to overcome. These are not ungrounded fears, either. It happens every winter break, when I take most of my time to ‘relax’. I find that, without pushing myself to learn, I have little motivation, and even less inspiration, in order to write or to be productive in any meaningful way.

rosettastone

So, for my graduation, I was given the Irish Gaelic Rosetta Stone. So far I’m on the second unit of the first level, core lesson three. At this point it’s mostly numbers and introductions and colors, but already the difference in just how the language sounds has been keeping me up and going, writing wise. I chose Irish because it was so radically different from the languages I had already ‘learned’, and so was the most intriguing  As a woman of Irish heritage, I also thought it might be fun to be able to tap in to my own roots with it. Furthermore, me, Monkey and my little brother will be learning the language together in order to help me in social situations with both my autism and my triggers. By the end of the year I may not be fluent in Irish Gaelic, but I will hopefully have learned enough to be able to tell my brother and boyfriend when ‘I’m scared’ or ‘I don’t like/trust this person’, ‘I want to go home’, or ‘I’m feeling just fine. I’m just tired’, without feeling the anxiety that comes with other people, strangers or not-close-enough acquaintances knowing that there is something ‘wrong’ with me- and they can tell me ‘Be a little quieter’, ‘Be careful’, ‘You’re being rude’, ‘That person is happy/sad/angry’ (for when I can’t read expressions) or ‘This person is coming’ without having to feel socially awkward about saying it out-loud with other people understanding them. So my end goal for learning this language is, I suppose, all encompassing- I want to be able to use it to better myself, and my experience of the world, both personally and professionally. I’m going the Rosetta Stone route because I learn better in solitary settings where the method is immersion, rather than translating or note-taking. I think the way in which one learns a language can effect one’s reception of it, and that if you want to learn a language for whatever reason you should do so in the way that best connects to your own personal way of learning, so that it can benefit you the most in the long run.

So here’s a question for my followers: If you were to learn a new language, what language would it be, and why? Would you do language software, or a class?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things I Do to Stay Sane: Learn a New Language

  1. I love other languages. Currently I’m on spanish, but I want to learn so many–Swahili among the top ones! It sounds so beautiful. At least to me. And I want to learn old languages, simply because I, like you, am very curious about seeing where languages connect and take from one another. It’s so intriguing. And it was the love of languages that made Professor Tolkien invent Middle Earth!

    • Swahili was really fun, I wish I continued with it!
      And it’s fun to note that I’m learning a Celtic language, which is what most fantasy languages are based off of!

Leave a Reply

