Guest Post: Writing for Children


Today’s guest post is brought to us by Kimberley Payne, a multi-genre Christian author whose main focus is encouraging other mothers in the faith through writing. Even though I myself am primarily a poet and fiction author, I thought it might be nice to get a look in to see where other writers in other genres get their inspiration and motivation from.

Writing for Children

As a child I loved libraries. I loved the smell that rushed me as I pulled open the double doors at the top of the entrance stairway. I loved the hushed quiet with only muted whispers between book lovers. I loved the colours. Always seasonally decorated, I could enjoy oranges in autumn and pinks in spring. The book spines were a feast for the eyes with varied print sizes and multiple colours. I loved being treated with respect. When I produced my Library Card, the librarian would smile with her eyes, acknowleging me as “one of ours”. I was only limited by the number of books my bicycle basket could carry.  I did not need to justify my choices – they were all good. Everyone knew they were good, just because they were in the library.

 Displaying Sample artwork - ant.jpg

I loved the cozy chairs I could crawl up into and get lost in comfort. I loved the round tables, perfect height for me, with chairs to share my discoveries with another “one-of-ours.”

I felt comfortable. I felt at home.

And I still do. I love the library. I feel especially called to the children’s section. I still love the inviting places to sit. I still love the fun colours. I still love the joy of discovery, of learning.

I want to be part of this world still. I want to “Peter Pan” my library past.

Today’s librarians may frown at a full grown adult sprawled on her belly in the middle of the reading carpet, giggling at a picture book. But if I were the one who wrote that book, that would be another story right?  And if I read that book to a group of children on that very same carpet, and we all sprawled together, and we all giggled together, that would then be okay, right?

I want to stretch out on the floor and laugh as I read. I want to share this joy with children. I want to create magical memories for them, just as my memories are kept alive with each visit to the library.

This is why I write for children.

Displaying Kimberley Payne, author.JPG

Kimberly Payne’s most recent book ‘Adam’s Animals’  is currently looking for funding on Kickstarter. It is the second of the ‘Science and Faith Matters‘  series, in which the children’s books match up popular Biblical stories with science lessons for children. The first of the series, ‘Trees of the Book’, gave a colorful introduction to leaves and trees, while ‘Adam’s Animals’ will include more than 40 animals mentioned in the Flood story and little-known facts corresponding to each. 

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Writing for Children

Leave a Reply

