Guest Post: Writing to be a Man of God


How writing helps me be the Man of God I am meant to be

Through much of my working career in the private sector, I found myself more than dissatisfied with the typical nine to five job structure. I worked hard and tried to get along with my co-workers, but there was just something missing; at least that’s how it was for me. I typically enjoyed a job for the first month or two until I got used to it, then the luster would wear thin and I found myself bored. I always thought there was something wrong with me.

 

Fast forward to today, I write full-time as a Christian author. I pen stories that inspire and uplift fellow believers in Christ. The stories are written in a way that come across authenticate and realistic so that the people who read them can identify easily. While I work hard at publishing and writing, it never feels like work in the traditional sense. I always related the word work with something I didn’t want to do.

 

While I used to find myself confused with my dissatisfaction with a typical job, I now feel I understand my past better. The calling that was put on my life when I was a young teenager I believe didn’t allow me to settle for a typical job. If I could settle on a “normal job” I would have never became an author. And now that I’m working full-time as a Christian author, I feel deeply connected with my Creator and Savior as a result of making the switch.

 

I see God through the stories as they unfold into words on the screen and how the Lord’s plan for our lives is so much better than what we think is best. And it’s not only when I’m writing that I can see God in these new ways. It’s an email from a reader explaining how the free devotional changed their life or how a story helped them see things differently. Those little pieces of the puzzle come together to show just how BIG God is, and how He’s working in the lives of those in the world.

 

Early on in my writing career, I relied heavily on God to show me how my family and I were going to make it month-to-month. The first month I left my job was the hardest, my wife and I were terrified, but the Lord provided, like He always does. Every single thing that happens not only within the realm of writing and publishing, but also in my life points to God and His awesomeness time and time again.

 

You might or might not be asking yourself, where was God for me before writing? God was still there, but it was different. I didn’t have full-time work that was revolving around Him. I didn’t see emails come through my inbox that were work related about how God was changing their life; it was memos about birthday cake in the break room. I am blessed to do the work I do and I’m eternally thankful for the opportunity God has given me.

 

With full-time work centered on God, I find myself constantly praying and connecting with God. I feel I must consistently re-direct praise and glory and success to God in order to stay level headed. My relationship with God and my life as a whole has forever been changed.

 

Displaying tk2.jpg

T.K. CHAPIN writes Contemporary Christian Romance books designed to inspire and tug on your heart strings. He believes that telling Contemporary Christian Romance stories of faith, love and family help build the faith of Christians and help non-believers see how God can work in the life of believers. He gives all credit for his writing and storytelling ability to God. 
Links:
Leave a Reply

