#NoMore Week : Surviving and Healing


As a victim of teen dating violence, the message of the No More movement hits very close to my heart. This is an issue that has always been at the forefront of my activism, to the point that my first novel under my fiction alias is entirely about relationship abuse, and 10% of my own royalties are donated to battered women’s shelters locally in Colorado.

While I don’t have a ton of money to add to the campaign, I would love to add my support to #NoMoreWeek through what I do best: writing. In honor of this week, here are two poems I wrote recently regarding my own road to recovery. We must remember in discussions of domestic violence and sexual assault not to forget about dating violence, including teen dating violence, as well as date rape.

survivor

Healing

If these in any way move you to action, please consider donating to No More, or to your own local battered women’s shelters. Get informed. Don’t make excuses. Stand up for the victims in your own lives. No more. 

2 thoughts on “#NoMore Week : Surviving and Healing

  1. Powerful poems Amber. I was a victim of spousal abuse 43 yrs. ago. It was a very difficult time. With help from others I came through it. Even after all these years it is still real. Like it happened yesterday. Good luck to you.

    • I think that’s the hardest thing for me- making other people understand that the memories don’t go away. You just keep deciding to get up tomorrow anyways. I wish peace to your heart ^^

Leave a comment