Dark Sonnet By Neil Gaiman


I don’t think that I’ve been in love as such

although I liked a few folk pretty well

Love must be vaster than my smiles or touch

for brave men died and empires rose and fell

for love, girls follow boys to foreign lands

and men have followed women into hell

In plays and poems someone understands

there’s something makes us more than blood and bone

And more than biological demands for me love’s like the wind unseen, unknown

I see the trees are bending where it’s been

I know that it leaves wreckage where it’s blown

I really don’t know what I love you means

I think it means don’t leave me here alone

 

One of my favorite current love poems. It’s so wonderfully realistic and I love the way it opens in such a traditional way yet diverts into a fresh, new kind of  understanding of the idea of love. I’m a huge fan of Gaiman’s poetry, more so than anything else of his writing.

6 thoughts on “Dark Sonnet By Neil Gaiman

    • No problem! I didn’t know he did either until I was looking up something regarding the Sandman series (I think I was looking up something along the lines of all the volumes he’s published?) and this little beauty popped up, and I have adored it ever sense!

Leave a comment